Thesis Ideas

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
robbo2071
robbo2071

Thesis Ideas

Hi guys,

I am studying for a master's in automotive engineering and would like to do a thesis on Formula 1 aerodynamics.

However, I am not sure as to what area to investigate. I want to pick something niche but also relevant to the current regulations, whether that be side pod design, diffuser/underfloor dynamics, or maybe something like aerodynamic cooling.

What areas are very topical or unknown and could have a good amount to research and investigate?

Thanks

F1NAC

Re: Thesis Ideas

robbo2071 wrote:
05 Feb 2024, 21:30
Hi guys,

I am studying for a master's in automotive engineering and would like to do a thesis on Formula 1 aerodynamics.

However, I am not sure as to what area to investigate. I want to pick something niche but also relevant to the current regulations, whether that be side pod design, diffuser/underfloor dynamics, or maybe something like aerodynamic cooling.

What areas are very topical or unknown and could have a good amount to research and investigate?

Thanks
Porpoising :mrgreen:

Zynerji

I'd like to see some software for a unique method of analysis. Like using asymmetrical cymatic algorithms to visualize boundary layer harmonics or something cool that gives a window into the data that is visually intuitive to the student studying the phenomenon.

But, that's pretty specific if you are not an aero-programmer...🤣

hollus

DRS and a possible resulting beam wing stall?
I mean, “ “ “ stall “ “ “ - ish.

It can have a horrible title like “long distance effects of flow field distortion during DRS activation on performance critical aerodynamic structures in the inter-wheel spatial domain”.
Rivals, not enemies.

robbo2071
robbo2071

krisfx wrote:
12 Feb 2024, 16:46