V-4

All that has to do with the power train, gearbox, clutch, fuels and lubricants, etc. Generally the mechanical side of Formula One.
Shrek
Shrek

V-4

Why hasn't anybody built a V-4 and why
Spencer

Roland Ehnström

Re: V-4

1960's Saab V4:

Edit: It was actually a Ford design, also used in the european Ford Taunus of the late 60's and early 70's.
Last edited by Roland Ehnström on 15 Oct 2009, 21:45, edited 1 time in total.

void

I am not an engineer, but I guess because it's much complex then in-line engine, so I gues the weight is smaller in a in-line engine.

CMSMJ1
CMSMJ1

A v4 for F1? NO point - you have a fair bit of room and an IL4 design will do just as well...
IMPERATOR REX ANGLORUM

autogyro
autogyro

CMSMJ1 wrote:A v4 for F1? NO point - you have a fair bit of room and an IL4 design will do just as well...
I think the V4 Ford had a counter shaft.
Not very promising.

Belatti
Belatti

Shrek wrote:Why hasn't anybody built a V-4 and why
All Subarus rally engines are flat-4
Thats a V at 180° :lol:
"You need great passion, because everything you do with great pleasure, you do well." -Juan Manuel Fangio

"I have no idols. I admire work, dedication and competence." -Ayrton Senna

autogyro
autogyro

Belatti wrote:
Shrek wrote:Why hasn't anybody built a V-4 and why
All Subarus rally engines are flat-4
Thats a V at 180° :lol:
Flat four boxer Subaru is great engine.
I helped a friend put one in an autogyro.
It should replace all old fashioned current light aero engines, a brilliant design.
Guess what, Subaru do not want to get involved in aircraft.

tarzoon

motoGP also uses v4 and v5, I think!

autogyro
autogyro

tarzoon wrote:motoGP also uses v4 and v5, I think!
I believe that one reason for the v4 and v5 in Moto GP is to balance the torque output from the engine to result in a more even torque to the rear wheel.
They also play with strange breathing and firing sequences.