Aerodynamic design AND optimization of an f1 rear spoiler

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
Zweeper
Zweeper

Aerodynamic design AND optimization of an f1 rear spoiler

hey everybody!

i'm studying aeronautical and mechanical engineering and i have to work on the thread topic. I have to create an formula 1 rear spoiler (a very simple one) with pro engineer, analyze it with CFD (gambit/fluent) and then i have to think about an optimization from this spoiler.

The problem is the optimization of this rear spoiler.
I thought about vortex generators ON the wing surface, but im not really sure if this is useful for the spoiler?

can someone here give me information about the vortex generators ON the wing? or has anyone here other ideas for a optimization of the wing?

kind regards,
zweeper

PlatinumZealot

Re: Aerodynamic design AND optimization of an f1 rear spoiler

I am not aeronautical, so I might be wrong on this, but I think that you put the vortex generators in places where the air separates from the surface. The Vortexes fill up that space where the air separates from the surface. So after you do your CFD, if the air separates put in your vortex generators.

When you said spolier, you meant a literal spoiler? or a wing?
The spoilers are devices that primarily use momentum change instead of pressure difference like a wing. But you can use both a spoiler AND a wing..

This is not F1, but it is a wing and a spoiler on one of my favourtie cars..(BMW E30 m3)

from turner motorsport

:-k

You can put on gurney flaps, endplates or multiple elements too.
🖐️✌️☝️👀👌✍️🐎🏆🙏

Racing Green in 2028

Jersey Tom
Jersey Tom

Well.. first thing you gotta do is determine what you're optimizing for. Absolute maximum possible lift coefficient? Broadest operating range.. with regard to pitch? Yaw? Highest L/D ratio for a minimum amount of downforce?